< More News

Latest News

UPR on China - Empty answers on protecting lawyers’ rights and ensuring procedural justice

On 22nd October 2013, the 17th Session of the Working Group on the Universal Periodic Review (UPR) was held in Geneva, with country representatives reviewing China’s human rights. Despite China’s alliances congratulating China on her human rights achievements, China Human Rights Lawyers Concern Group is disappointed with China’s empty answers on protecting lawyers’ rights and ensuring procedural justice.

Representatives of Finland, Canada, Hungary and Cape Verde made recommendations specifically on rights of lawyers, recommending that Chinese government should ensure lawyers in practice face no oppression or obstruction.

China responded the countries’ concern with little relevance to measures protecting rights of lawyers. Representatives of China provided figures of lawyers and law firms in China and the fact that lawyers are involved in the legislation of certain business and property law. Even with more than 20 lawyers disbarred for representing human rights defenders in the past few years, the delegation claimed that lawyers’ rights are safeguarded in China.

Country representative of United States also recommended the Chinese government to immediately release Xu Zhiyong and Yang Moudong (Guo Feixiong), which was not responded by China.

Chairperson of China Human Rights Lawyers Concern Group Albert Ho said that China had not taken the criticisms of human rights violations by other countries seriously. It gave no positive response to various recommendations, including the repeated request to ratify ICCPR, which was raised even by some African countries that had close relationships with China. It also refused to made promise to, if not abolish, reduce or improve the transparency of the execution of death penalty.

China Human Rights Lawyers Concern Group is disappointed with the Chinese government using increasing numbers of lawyers and litigations as an indicator of improvement in judicial system. An established judicial system should be one with laws protecting human rights, independent courts and lawyers who can deliver legal services without obstruction, regardless of the nature of cases they handle. Sadly, the Chinese delegation mentioned no measures to ensure the independence of courts and citizens’ access to justice.

China Human Rights Lawyers Concern Group continues to call for the international community to reject China’s bid for membership in Human Rights Council.

Top

< 更多消息

最新消息

對中國的普遍定期審議 – 就保護律師權益和保障程序公義作出空泛的回應

普遍定期審議工作組第17次會議於2013年10月22日在日內瓦舉行,各國代表就中國的人權狀況進行審議。雖然中國的盟友恭賀中國在人權方面取得成就,中國維權律師關注組對於中國就保護律師權益和保障程序公義等方面作出空泛的回應感到失望。

芬蘭、加拿大、匈牙利和維德角的代表特別在律師的權益方面提出建議。他們建議中國政府應確保執業律師不會面臨任何壓迫或阻礙。

中國在回應此些國家的憂慮時,沒有提出保護律師權益的相關措施。中國代表提供了內地律師和律師所數量等的資料,還有指出律師有參與某些商法和物權法的立法。即使在過去幾年有超過20位律師因為代表人權捍衛者而被取消律師資格,中國代表仍然聲稱律師的權利是受到保障的。

美國的代表亦要求中國政府立即釋放許志永和楊茂東(郭飛雄),對於這點中國並沒有作出回應。

中國維權律師關注組的主席何俊仁提到中國並沒有認真對待其他國家就內地侵犯人權的批評。中國沒有積極回應不同的建議,包括多次有關批准「公民權利和政治權利國際公約」的要求。甚至一些跟中國有緊密關係的非洲國家亦有提出此要求。中國還拒絕承諾降低執行死刑的數量或改善其透明度,更遑論承諾廢除死刑。

中國維權律師關注組對於中國以律師和訴訟數目的增加作為司法制度改善的指標感到失望。一個完善的司法制度是應該可以讓法律保障人權,法庭獨立和律師可以在面對任何性質的案件時均可沒有障礙地提供法律服務。可惜,中國代表團沒有提到任何措施去保障法庭的獨立和公民訴諸法律的渠道。

中國維權律師關注組繼續呼籲國際社會拒絕中國獲得人權理事會的成員資格。