“The Dream of Constitution” Shattered Protest against Unlawful Violence, Detention and Arrest against Chinese Human Rights Lawyers

The new leaders of the Chinese government repeatedly stress the importance of ruling the country by law. However, in the past two months, at least 16 lawyers were assaulted, arbitrarily detained or even arrested while they were handling human rights cases and exercising civil rights. On 17th May, China Human Rights Lawyers Concern Group, Hong Kong Alliance in Support of Patriotic Democratic Movements in China, Justice and Peace Commission of the Hong Kong Catholic Diocese, and New School for Democracy marched to the Liaison Office of the Central People's Government in Hong Kong to protest against the recent unlawful violence, detention and arrest against Chines Human Rights Lawyers.

On 4th April, Beijing lawyer Wang Quanzhang was judicially detained after a trial at Jing Jiang court. He was detained with the charge of “severely obstructing order in court” after taking a photo of a document for back-up.

On 12th April, Anhui lawyer Cheng Hai was assaulted by ten police in plainclothes outside a court in Dalian because he questioned about the reason of the postponement of a court case.

On 14th April, Shenzhen lawyer Jiang Yuanmin was retaliated because he defended rights of the victims in land grabbing. He was detained with the charge of “assembling crowds to disturb public order” and was interrogated for 24 hours. Jiang’s physical condition was very bad but the detention centre did not provide him any medical treatment.

On 15th April, Beijing female lawyer Cui Jianan reported Chen Gang, the Vice Mayor of Beijing, about his alleged deception of housing maintenance fund. The police detained her with the charge of “obstructing public order”. She was detained for more than ten hours and was injected unknown substance. Later she had a heart attack during the detention and was sent to the hospital.

On 17th April, Beijing lawyer Ding Jiaxi was summoned with the charge of “illegal assembly” and he is still detained. It is suspected that the detention was due to his advocacy for disclosure of officials’ wealth and equal rights of education in Beijing.

On 13th May, Lin Qilei, Guo Haiyue, Jiang Tianyong, Tang Jitian, Liang Xiaojun, Tang Tianhao and Zhang Keke tried to visit the largest black jail in Sichuan in the morning of 13th May. They were beaten severely by several unidentified persons. Later they were detained for more than twelve hours with the charge of “obstructing the business of the officials” at Ying Jie Town Police Station.

Several hours later, Wang Cheng, Wen Haibo, Li Heping and Yang Huiwen went to Ziyang, Sichuan to rescue the lawyers but the four lawyers were also detained. After being interrogated for more than twelve hours, Wang Cheng, Wen Haibo and Yang Huiwen were released at around 2a.m. that day. Li Heping was detained with the charge of “spreading false information”.

All of the said cases are unacceptable and unlawful. All of them violate the internationally recognized human rights standard and the Chinese Constitution. We strongly demand the Chinese Government:

1.      to release all of the detained and assaulted lawyers and activists immediately;

2.      to fully investigate the issues and send apologies to all of the detained and assaulted persons;

3.      if criminal crimes found, to charge any concerned persons, officials or non-officials, and to allow open trials on the issues.

 

 

Contact: Ms Lau (5492 3004)

 

China Human Rights Lawyers Concern Group,

Hong Kong Alliance in Support of Patriotic Democratic Movements in China,

Justice and Peace Commission of the Hong Kong Catholic Diocese, and

New School for Democracy

 

 

 

 

 

Top

宪政梦粉碎 抗议中国政府近日大规模任意拘留、逮捕及殴打维权律师

自新一届政府上任以来,多位领导人强调必须依法治国,惟过去两个月来,已有至少16位律师在代理人权案件和行使公民权利时被暴力对待、任意拘留,甚至起诉。中国维权律师关注组、香港市民支持爱国民主运动联合会、香港天主教正义和平委员会及华人民主书院5月17日游行到中联办抗议中国政府近日大规模任意拘留、逮捕及殴打维权律师。

4月4日,北京王全章律师在江苏靖江法院开庭后,因为案件材料拍照备用被法院以「严重违反法庭秩序」拘留。

4月12日, 安徽律师程海因询问庭审被推迟的原因,在大连某法院门外遭到十名警察暴力殴打。

4月14日,深圳律师蒋援民因帮助失地农民维权遭有关部门报复,被以「聚众扰乱社会秩序」刑事拘留,并审讯一天一夜。蒋律师身体状况极差,但当局没有提供任何治疗或检查。

4月15日,北京女律师崔家楠举报副市长陈刚涉嫌诈骗住房维修基金,被警方以「涉嫌扰乱社会秩序」扣押,她被限制多天及被注射不明液体,其后心脏病发送往医院。

4月17日,北京律师丁家喜因要求官员公布财产及教育平等权,被警方以「涉嫌非法集会」刑事传唤,至今仍未获释。

5月13日,郭海跃、江天勇、张科科、唐吉田、唐天昊、梁小军、蔺其磊共七位律师尝试探访四川最大黑监狱,被数名身份不明人士殴打,其后在四川资阳市雁江区迎接镇派出所被警察以「妨害公务罪」拘留超过十二小时。王成、温海波、李和平和杨慧文收到消息后前往四川资阳声援几位律师,也被拘留在迎接镇派出所。王成、温海波和杨慧文被问话十二小时后于5月13日凌晨2时获释。李和平则被当局以「散布不实消息」拘留。

以上各事件均为非法,而且违反国际公认的人权标准和中国宪法。我们强烈要求中国政府:

1。立刻释放所有被拘留的律师和维权人士;

2。彻底调查各事件,并向所有被拘留和被殴打者道歉;

3。如以上非法行为涉及刑事罪行,即检控有关人士,政府官员或非官员,并允许公开审讯。

 

中国维权律师关注组

香港市民支持爱国民主运动联合会

香港天主教正义和平委员会

华人民主书院

2013年5月17日

 

 

联络 刘小姐5492 3004

标签 :